هاريتا توهم هي أحد مؤسسي منظمة سفراء السلام من أجل العراق ورئيس مجلس إدارتها الحالي وأحد مواطني لاتفيا البارزين. وقد سخرت حياتها لإحداث تغيير في العالم والتقريب بين الشعوب عبر الحوار الصادق والمعاملات ذات المغزى. وعلى هذا النحو، يمكن أن ينظر لحياتها على أنها قصة لاتفية فريدة من نوعها.

وبصفتها ابنة الملحن اللاتفي الشهير ألكسندرز كيبلنسكي، نشأت هاريتا في جو فني منذ سن مبكرة جدًا. وقد أظهرت منذ سن الست سنوات موهبة وقدرة على الأداء مع تقدمها في صفوف التزلج على الجليد في لاتفيا. حيث بلغت في سن السادسة عشرة قمة هذه الرياضة في لاتفيا بعد اختيارها للمشاركة في الفريق الوطني للتزلج على الجليد. وبعد ذلك، ورغم صعوبة الواقع المعيشي في ظل حكم الاتحاد السوفييتي، شرعت هاريتا في البحث عن فرص تعليمية أملاً منها في ضمان مستقبل لامع لها ولعائلتها.

وبدأت هاريتا بعد التخرج من جامعة لاتفيا الوطنية في سنة 1988 وحصولها على شهادة في تعليم اللغة الإنجليزية وفقه اللغة العمل على جلب الاستثمار وفرص العمل إلى لاتفيا من خلال عملها في قسم العلاقات التجارية لشركة مونو-إيه إم لتصدير الألومنيوم. وبعد العمل مع شركة مونو-إيه إم لمدة سنتين، انتقلت هاريتا للعمل في مركز ريغا التجاري حيث عملت مع رجال الأعمال والمستثمرين من الغرب ممَن كانوا يبحثون عن فرص استثمار في لاتفيا. وقد قدَمت هاريتا خلال عملها في مركز ريغا التجاري مجموعة واسعة من الخدمات التجارية التي كانت تفتقر لها لاتفيا في تلك الفترة.

وتصادف عمل هاريتا في مركز ريغا التجاري مع فترة تاريخية في تاريخ لاتفيا. ففي الوقت الذي كان فيه الاتحاد السوفييتي يقوم بإصلاحات سياسية واجتماعية في أواخر الثمانينات، أعلن البرلمان اللاتفي في 4 أيار/مايو سنة 1990 عن استقلال الدولة. إلا أن موسكو لم تعترف بمثل هذا الإعلان وأبقت على احتلالها للاتفيا إلى حدود سنة 1991. ورغم أن الاتصالات من المدينة كانت صعبة إلى حدود آب/أغسطس سنة 1991 فإن مركز ريغا التجاري كان يمتلك آلة التيلكس الوحيدة التي تعمل والقادرة على إرسال رسائل إلى خارج لاتفيا. وقد بدأت هاريتا العمل مع الصحافيين وبعض الأشخاص الآخرين على إرسال رسائل بشأن ما كان يحصل في ريغا إلى عدد من المؤسسات الإخبارية.

حيث تمكنت هاريتا في 21 آب/أغسطس 1991 من إرسال الإعلان الفعلي لاستقلال جمهورية لاتفيا إلى الأمم المتحدة بطلب من وزارة الخارجية اللاتفية.

واستمرت هاريتا في مشاركتها في الشؤون التجارية والأعمال الحرة من خلال انتقالها إلى إدارة عدد من الشركات التجارية الخاصة بها وتوظيف عدد كبير من اللاتفيين لمدة عقد من الزمن.

وفي سنة 2000 التقت هاريتا زوجها الحالي جوني توهم وهو رجل أعمال لبناني نجحت معه في إدارة مطعم لبناني يقع في الساحل اللاتفي في جورمالا. وبدأ انبهار هاريتا بثقافة الشرق الأوسط واقترابها من المنطقة من خلال زوجها. وانتقلت العائلة لتجربة الحياة في بيروت في لبنان خلال الفترة بين سنة 2009 وسنة 2010.

وقد وُلدت فكرة سفراء السلام من أجل العراق في بيروت عند اتصال جوني وهاريتا بالشيخ جمال الذي كان بصدد البحث عن طريقة لجلب الانتباه إلى محنة العراقيين خلال حرب العراق وإلى تداعياتها.

ونظرًا للترؤس المرتقب للاتفيا للاتحاد الأوروبي، أسَست هاريتا مع الشيخ جمال الضاري منظمة سفراء السلام من أجل العراق في سنة 2014.

وتؤمن هاريتا بأن عدم انخراط لاتفيا في الأخطاء السابقة في الشرق الأوسط يجعل منها المكان الأمثل لإطلاق رسالة جمال ومنظمة سفراء السلام من أجل العراق.

وكرَست هاريتا وقتها للتحقق من الدور الإيجابي الذي يمكن أن تؤديه لاتفيا في العالم والمساعدة التي يمكن للعالم تقديمها للاتفيا. وبما في ذلك الدور الذي تؤديه منظمة سفراء السلام من أجل العراق لإحلال السلام في العراق والعمل على زيادة الاستثمار وفرص العمل في لاتفيا.

HaritaThomeBiopic

Harita Tohme is the Co-Founder and current Chairwoman of Peace Ambassadors for Iraq (PAFI) and a prominent Latvian citizen.  She has dedicated her life to enacting change in the world and bringing people together through honest dialogue and meaningful transactions. As such, her life reads as a uniquely Latvian story.

The daughter of acclaimed Latvian composer, Aleksandrs Kublinskis, Harita was raised amongst the arts from a very early age. From the age of six, she showed a talent and ability for performing as she advanced up through the ranks of Latvian figure skating. By the age of sixteen she reached the pinnacle of the sport in Latvia by being selected for the national figure skating team. After that point, however, due to the harsh realities of life under the Soviet Union, Harita began to pursue educational opportunities in the hopes of securing a brighter future for herself and her family.

After graduating from Latvian National University in 1988 with a degree in English Teaching and Philology, Harita began working to bring investment and jobs to Latvia for business relations in the aluminum exporting company Mono-AM. After working for Mono-AM for two years, Harita then moved on to the Riga Business Center, were she worked with business people and entrepreneurs from the West who were looking into investment opportunities in Latvia. At Riga Business Center, Harita provided a wide-range of business services which were lacking in Latvia at the time.

Harita’s tenure at the Riga Business Center coincided with an historic moment in Latvia’s history. As political and social reforms were taking place throughout the Soviet Union in the late 1980s, the Latvian parliament declared itself an independent state on 4 May 1990. Moscow, however, did not recognize such a declaration and maintained occupation of Latvia through 1991. By August of 1991, telecommunications had been severed from city, but the Riga Business Center had one of the only working telex machines capable of transmitting messages outside of Latvia. Harita began working with journalists and others in sending messages on what was taking place in Riga to a number of news organizations.

Harita was able to telex the de facto announcement of independence of the Republic of Latvia to the United Nations, at the request Latvian Foreign Ministry, on 21 August 1991.

Continuing her involvement in business and entrepreneurial affairs, Harita transitioned into operating a number of her own businesses for a decade, employing many Latvians.

In 2000, she met her current husband Johnny Tohme, a Lebanese businessman with whom she operated a successful Lebanese restaurant located on the Latvian coast of Jurmala. Through her husband she began her appreciation of Middle Eastern culture and developed an affinity for the region. From 2009 to 2010, the family moved to experience life in Beirut, Lebanon.

The idea of PAFI was born in Beirut as Johnny and Harita came in contact with Sheikh Jamal al-Dhari who was searching for a way to bring attention to the plight of Iraqi’s during the Iraq War and its aftermath.

Due to Latvia’s then upcoming Presidency of the European Union, Harita founded PAFI with Sheikh Jamal al-Dhari in 2014.

Harita believes that because Latvia is not weighed down with past mistakes in the Middle East, it is the most suitable location for the launching point for Jamal’s message and the PAFI organization.

Harita has devoted her time to realizing the positive role Latvia can have in the world and what the world can help Latvia with. This has included the PAFI mission to bring peace to Iraq as well as working to increase investment and job opportunities in Latvia